Rcb vs Pbks Ipl Match Highlights

It was a solid batting display by both the teams with Punjab Kings (PBKS) eventually beating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by five wickets in their first match of the season. Chasing 206, the team kicked-off on a good note with Mayank Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan adding 71 runs in just 7.1 overs. Wanindu Hasaranga then broke the stand, dismissing Mayank on 32(24) balls in his first ball of the season. Dhawan and Bhanuka Rajapaksa continued Punjab’s fight and added 47 runs for the second wicket before Harshal Patel provided RCB with their second breakthrough, removing the Indian on 43(29).

Rajapaksa also scored the same number of runs in 22 balls before getting out to Mohammed Siraj, who then went to dismiss India’s U-19 star Raj Angad Bawa in the following delivery. Liam Livingstone was the final batter to depart as a late cameo by Odean Smith helped PBKS close the match with an over to spare. Earlier in the evening, Faf du Plessis scored 88 off 57 as Royal Challengers finish on 205/2 after being invited to bat first. The RCB skipper found great support from Virat Kohli as the pair added 118 runs for the second wicket. Kohli retuned unbeaten on 41 off 29 balls.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) captain Mayank Agarwal was a happy man with the way his team performed in their opening clash of the IPL 2022 season against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Sunday.

PBKS chased down a steep total of 206 on a good batting surface to start their campaign with a victory. All their specialist batters came to the party with Shahrukh Khan and Odean Smith applying the finishing touches.

RCB bowlers were quite poor in their execution and paid the price. There were as many as 23 extras in both innings, showcasing the rustiness in the franchise’s considering it is their first game of the season.

Odean won the Player of the Match award for his 8-ball 25 that sealed the deal for his team. Although he had a terrible day with the ball, conceding 52 runs in 4 overs, he more than made up for it with a match-winning cameo.

RCB – 205/2 (20 Overs)
Faf du Plessis – 88 (57)
Virat Kohli – 41* (29)
Dinesh Karthik – 32* (14)

PBKS – 208/5 (19 overs)
Bhanuka Rajapaksa – 43 (22)
Shikhar Dhawan – 43(29)
Mayank Agarwal – 32(24)
Odean Smith – 25* (8)

About Post Author

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »